THE EAGLE’S GIFT

Injured in my own borders
Can’t see my way through
These walls were where my comforts lie
Now they have fallen into
 
To escape would be to abandon
And live with the results my fled
I can already see the horizon
Without blue, black or red
 
I’ve lingered in here for so long I can’t feel
The torture has been an accustomed dwell
Now I must become this solitary keel
Or else adrift into this bottomless hell
 
I sense that my distortions are heavy
My timeless hopes fly like mist
So thick and dense as a sturdy levy
Collapse in the wake of love’s gist
 
I will crawl out of the rubble
And in due time see once again
As this blurred reflection makes me humble
I know that I’ve never lost a friend
 
Leave a Reply

