THAT YOU WERE SMILING

When I stepped out into the fresh midnight air
I was feeling pretty good and I knew I would
Begin to see me
And the moon shone white like a flashlight beam
And I started to dream, I swear I heard you scream
Then I could see you
 
Sat down on the cool wet lawn
To try to let this run
Thought there until the moon crashed into dawn
And watched the rising sun
My only hope was that you were smiling
 
Then the morning rooster begged for the waking light
As he yelled his crow, to let everyone know
He was yawning
And the dew that wet the lawn all that night
Which cooled the air, there was fog everywhere
We were dawning
 
Witnessed the morning doves flying in my head
I also saw the chickadees come scavenging for pieces of bread
They never even saw our shadows shiver
 
And then in from the east, flew a raven
He was a screaming showman, tricked us to believe the omen
Was our distant echo
When I stepped back into my reality there
I was feeling very good, I could tell that my path would
Begin to let go
 
Sat down on the dry green lawn
To try to let this run
Thought there until the sun crashed away the dawn
And watched the raven sun
My only hope was that you were smiling
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

